案例分析

我们的服务,为客户带来实际的成长和改变。我们有客户至上的大理念,更有实际数据支持的实力证明。

口语培训

重点数据:

  • 中国雅思考生的平均口语成绩是5.4,绝大部分同学的口语最高分不超过6.5
  • 89%的Miiito学员在完成我们的课程后都取得了6.0-7.5的成绩,成功达到中国雅思考生中的高水平。
48%
48% score between 6.0 - 7.5
Average Chinese Student
89%
89% score between 6.0 - 7.5
Miiito Students
  • 98%的学生在参加完我们的课程之后,都认为得到了“显著的自信心和口语能力提升”
98%
98% increased confidence
Miiito Students

在投出了大量的时间,精力和人力成本之后,中国学生的口语平均分依然在5.4分左右徘徊,名列世界倒数第一。目前在英国就读的中国留学生,口语平均成绩在5分和6.5分之间,很少有同学能跨过6.5分的坎。这样的口语成绩虽然能够保证他们在英国基本的学习交流,却不能帮助他们在英进行深层次的交流,发展职业生涯。

学生口语成绩薄弱的原因主要是因为国内的应试英语教育注重做题,刷分,而忽略了实用性的口语练习。再加上国内口语优良的老师本身数量很少,学生很少有高质量的学习练习机会。词汇多样性的缺乏,对轻重音,语气,甚至肢体语言的忽略,导致中国学生的英语听起来“生硬” “过于简单” 甚至“粗鲁”。

其次,要在第二语言中达到理想的交流状态,除了语言本身之外,学生更应懂得语言环境下的文化背景。才能解决“无话可说”“不知道说什么好”的常见问题。

我们的口语培训是专门针对中国学生的问题而设计的, 在经过了我们的训练之后,超过89%以上的学生获得了1到1.5的雅思成绩提高。将他们从5分到6分的中等成绩,提成到6分到7.5分的高分成绩。在学习心态上,98%的学生在参加完我们的课程之后,都认为得到了“显著的自信心和口语能力提升”。

职业培训

重点数据:

  • 目前英国有10万中国留学生,只有不到2%的学生在毕业时拿到了全职工作offer
  • 超过85%以上的中国留学生,在留英学习期间未获得任何工作经历
85%
85% do not gain work experience
Average Chinese Student
  • 90%的Miiito学员在接受完我们的职业培训之后,获得了在英的工作机会
2%
2% receive offers
Average Chinese Student
90%
90% receive offers
Miiito Students

在留学期间获得一些工作经历是留学生普遍的想法, 能做到的人却少之又少。中国留学生虽然在教育水平上达标,然而在面对来自世界其他国家人才的竞争下,却处在弱势。这种弱势主要是由两个原因造成的:一是留学生口语能力软实力缺乏,职场交流能力,跨文化理解能力相对薄弱。二是,做为外来学生,对本地文化和职场状况缺乏深入理解。导致留学生在英求职频频失败。

这也是为什么,Miiito旗下的所有培训都是围绕着语言和文化展开的。通过培训,学员不仅能获得交流的能力,更能获得交流的技巧。既知道怎么说,也知道说什么恰当。同时,我们也从中英职场文化的不同中入手,来帮助我们的学员在国际化企业的环境下找到自己的优势,在跨文化的工作交流中高效的展现自己的个人特色和能力。

数据显示,在英国的十万中国留学生当中,能拿到在英国的工作offer的学生只占总数的2%。 然而,在英国,有超过三万家公司具有提供T2工作签证的资质,并且有超过72%的公司愿意为优秀的国际学生应聘者去申请提供工作签证的资质。即使在这样的背景下,依然有超过85%的中国学生从未在留学期间获得任何工作经验。

对比之下,90%以上参与了Miiito职业精英计划的同学,都在培训之后,获得了至少一个来自英国公司的工作邀请;并且,97%的学员都认为他们在培训过程中,极大的提高了自己对国际职场文化的理解认识,加强了自己的职场竞争力。

Case Studies

Here at Miiito, we believe that our work makes a difference. Two separate case studies are shown below to summarise our services’ impact.

Language Improvement

Key Findings –

  • Average IELTS speaking score for Chinese students is 5.4 with the high-end of speaking scores rarely exceeding 6.5 (IELTS, 2015)
  • 89% of students score between 6.0 – 7.5 on the IELTS speaking test after completing our programme (up to a full level point above the “high” score for average Chinese students)
48%
48% score between 6.0 - 7.5
Average Chinese Student
89%
89% score between 6.0 - 7.5
Miiito Students
  • 98% of our students feel increased confidence with intercultural communication (in English) upon completing our programmes.
98%
98% increased confidence
Miiito Students

Despite tremendous effort, the average Chinese student scores 5.4 on their IELTS speaking test, placing them among the bottom scoring rankings globally. The average speaking ability of Chinese students in the UK ranges from 5.0 to 6.5 with a score of 6.5 being a ceiling rarely crossed. While these scores are enough to conduct most studies, the majority struggle to actively engage with their local and international communities. This is especially pronounced when attempting to communicate with professionals and develop a career in the UK.

We identified that the main reason for this lapse as the exam-oriented English education currently found in China. Chinese education of the English language focuses on exam performance, vocabulary, and some technical semantics, but lacks quality training in speech and conversation. Additionally, in order to effectively communicate in a second language, students need to understand the broader cultural context so as to comprehend and adopt the correct mannerisms, idioms, and nuanced humor.

Our language training not only provided students with qualified English speaking instruction, but also provides a Chinese-focused solution to help students overcome their specific and unique language challenges. Over 89% of our students achieved a 1.0 to 1.5 increase in their IELTS speaking score. This advances them from the 5.0 – 6.0 range to the next band of 6.0 – 7.5, and (in a personal capacity) some 98% of our students feel more confident to communicate across cultures in English.

Career Placement

Key Findings –

  • Of the ~100,000 Chinese students studying in the UK roughly 2% of them receives a full-time job offer upon graduation
  • Over 85% of these students do not receive work experience during their studies in the UK
85%
85% do not gain work experience
Average Chinese Student
  • Roughly 90% of the students that completed the Miiito career training programme went on to receive a job or placement offer in the UK
2%
2% receive offers
Average Chinese Student
90%
90% receive offers
Miiito Students

While a common goal of Chinese international students studying in the UK is also to receive work experience during their time abroad, the number of Chinese placements and job offers are surprisingly low. Despite receiving quality international education, these students would appear to be disadvantaged or in the very least less competitive within the British careers market.

Miiito has identified two main explanations as to why Chinese international students are not receiving work placement offers: a lack of effective professional communication skill and lack of understanding of the UK’s working culture/process. Combining our language training with our career training, we ensure potential candidates understand both quality and content in professional communication by coaching not only on ‘how to communicate’, but also on ‘what to communicate’.  We identify the core differences between Chinese working culture and that of the UK, and empower our students to effectively work cross-culturally.

The statistic of Chinese students in the UK receiving placement offers falls at around 2% of the 100,000 per year. This indicates some lapse in communication between employers and graduates given the fact that (of the 30,000 UK companies allowed to sponsor international visas) 72% of companies sampled regarding sponsorship are willing to do so for the right candidate (Debut Careers, 2017). The majority of Chinese students does not ever even receive an opportunity to gain experiential knowledge (around 85% never taking on applicative work). By stark contrast, the students who participated on our career training programme have shockingly increased employment potential. Over 90% of them have received a work offer from a company within the UK, and 97% of them feels they have ‘gained a comprehensive understand of international working culture’ as well as a sense of ‘empowerment’.